SANDIA SNOWSHOE CLASSIC HISTORY

By Lou Romero

INTRODUCTION

I decided to research, retrace, and document when the Snowshoe Classic first started and who were the Snowshoe Race Directors over time. I have personal knowledge starting from 2011 to the present.

From Bob Lowder, I learned that the "race" was started by Jeff Young, a FOSM Lifetime member. He became the first Director. Quoting Bob, "...it was a pretty casual affair. After a few years, it was coordinated by Pam and Larry Walker, also lifetime members. That is when I became involved."

I first met Jeff Young at the 2024 Classic. I learned directly from him about his role with the first 5 races. He also provided pictures of the 2001 first race T-shirt and the 2005 t-shirt he still has.

1st race – 2001 – Jeff Young, Director

2nd race – 2002 – Same

3rd race – 2003 – Same

4th race – 2004 – Same

 5^{th} race -2005 - Same

6th race – 2006 – Pam and Larry Walker, Directors

7th race – 2007 – Same

8th race - 2008 – Same (I found articles in the FOSM Newsletters confirming their role during those 3 years)

CHRONOLOGY SINCE 2008:

9th race – 2009 – Joy and Matt Bosquez were Co-Directors

10th race- 2010 - Same

11th race – 2011- Same (I served as one of 11 Course Marshals)

12th race – 2012 – Same (I served as one of 11 Course Marshals)

13thth race – 2013 – Same (I shadowed Joy and Matt and assembled a 54 page logistics Manual documenting all the work involved in hosting a race at the time)

14th race – 2014 – Lou Romero, Race Director

15th race - 2015 - Same

16^h race – 2016 – Same

17th race – 2017 – Same (Steve Roholt shadowed me; the Race was postponed one week due to too much snow and unplowed road)

2018 Steve Roholt, Race Director; the race was canceled due to not enough snow

18th race – 2019 – Steve Roholt, Race Director

19th race – 2020 – Same

2021 race canceled; Covid Pandemic protocols did not allow the Forest Service to issue a permit for such gatherings.

20th Snowshoe Classic – 2022 – Mike Madden and his Committee (Steve Roholt, Silke Bletzer, Sim Cook,)

21st Snowshoe Classic – 2023 – Mike Madden and Committee

22nd Snowshoe Classic – 2024 – Mike Madden and Committee