## SANDIA SNOWSHOE RACE HISTORY – by Lou Romero, 1/20/22

revised and updated by Mike Madden, 1/23/2025

## **INTRODUCTION**

I decided to research, retrace and document when it first started and who were the Snowshoe Race Directors at the time. I have personal knowledge starting from 2011 to the present.

From Bob Lowder, I learned that the "race" was started by Jeff Young, a FOSM Lifetime member. He became the first Director. Quoting Bob, "...it was a pretty casual affair. After a few years, it was coordinated by Pam and Larry Walker, also lifetime members. That is when I became involved."

I first met Jeff Young at the 2024 Classic. I learned directly from him about his role with the first 5 races. He also provided pictures of the 2001 first race T-shirt and the 2005 t-shirt he still has.

1<sup>st</sup> race – 2001 – Jeff Young, Director (verified by Jeff's T-shirt photo)

2<sup>nd</sup> race – 2002 – Jeff Young, Director (verified by Jeff's T-shirt photo)

3<sup>rd</sup> race – 2003 – Jeff Young, Director (newspaper article and FOSM Newsletter)

2004 - no mention anywhere, so probably skipped or canceled

4<sup>th</sup> race – 2005 – Jeff Young, Director (verified by Jeff's T-shirt photo)

2006 – no mention anywhere, so probably skipped or canceled

5<sup>th</sup> race – 2007 – Pam and Larry Walker, Directors (FOSM Newsletter stated a race was held, but didn't give it a number, must have been the fifth)

6<sup>th</sup> race - 2008 – Pam and Larry Walker, Directors (stated as such in the FOSM Newsletter, and all newsletters going forward)

7th race – 2009 – Joy and Matt Bosquez were Co-Directors

8th race- 2010 – Joy and Matt Bosquez were Co-Directors

9<sup>th</sup> race – 2011- Joy and Matt Bosquez were Co-Directors

10th race – 2012 – Joy and Matt Bosquez were Co-Directors

11<sup>th</sup> race – 2013 – Joy and Matt Bosquez were Co-Directors (I shadowed Joy and Matt and assembled a 54 page logistics Manual documenting all the work involved in hosting a race at the time)

12<sup>th</sup> race – 2014 – Lou Romero, Race Director

13<sup>th</sup> race – 2015 – Lou Romero, Race Director

14<sup>h</sup> race – 2016 – Lou Romero, Race Director

15<sup>th</sup> race – 2017 – Lou Romero, Race Director (Steve Roholt shadowed me; the Race was postponed one week due to too much snow and unplowed road)

2018 Steve Roholt, Race Director; canceled due to not enough snow

16<sup>th</sup> race – 2019 – Steve Roholt, Race Director

17<sup>th</sup> race – 2020 – Steve Roholt, Race Director

2021 - skipped; Covid Pandemic protocols did not allow the Forest Service to issue a permit for such gatherings.

18<sup>th</sup> Snowshoe Classic – 2022 – Mike Madden, Race Director

19th Snowshoe Classic – 2023 – Mike Madden, Race Director

20th Snowshoe Classic – 2024 – Mike Madden, Race Director

21st Snowshoe Classic - 2025 - Mike Madden, Race Director